Why did I choose to blog about my lead up to this competition? At the end of the day I’m as green as they come, why would anyone want to read about it?

Well, to be honest, a big part of this is for me. I find writing therapeutic, and it helps to have something to do when I don’t really have anything else to do (I’m already at level 1735 on Candy Crush and I figured it was time to get a new hobby. I’m actually not kidding. That’s the level I’m currently on.) I figured if I did something that was good for me it made it time well spent.

Secretly, I also thought maybe it would interest some other people. 1 in 10 women have endometriosis, and about 1 in 5 have PCOS and I know how frustrating it is to feel like I’m not capable, or I can’t do something. What strongman has taught me over the last 2-3 months is that I can bloody well do ANYTHING. I figured if just one person who felt that way, whether they had endo or PCOS or not, read this blog and decided they too can deadlift over 100kgs or run a marathon/perform a concert in front of hundreds of people/or just live a dream they were too frightened to, then I also did a little bit of good in the world.

Plus I want to document my own progress. I can’t believe how much I have achieved in 3 months. I think it was our second class and we tried stones. Well “stones”- the girls worked on the sandbags which go up to 45kg, where the stones start at 50kgs. I HATED IT. It was such an uncomfortable movement, it hurt my arms and scraped them, standing up with that much weight on your boobs/tummy is so uncomfortable, I felt ripping pains in and around my uterus, I had hip pain for days after. Last night I picked up and dropped the 75kg stone over a 1.2m high bar twice! AFTER we had already done about 25 reps with the 50kg stone. The scrapes on my arms and the bruises on my boobs are now my badge of honour. And I keep going back for more!

I’ve done a tonne of different sports over my lifetime and I have not made friends faster or more easily, grown so close to people, felt supported and loved, or hit any of my fitness-related goals as fast as I have since I started strongman. In a nutshell, I want everyone to feel this good about their sport, and encourage everyone to come and try strongman 🙂

 

